If you’re Googling this topic, then there’s a good chance you are already familiar with High Dynamic Range (HDR). If not, HDR is the latest technology to adorn modern TV sets and it’s being heralded as the true advancement in picture quality, with experts believing the technology is even more important than 4K Ultra HD.

It’s no surprise either – while 4K UHD simply pushes through more pixels, leading to sharper looking images, HDR brings additional colours and a brighter image to the table. In essence, it improves the pixels rather than pumping through more.

HDR:10 is the standard that can be found on most HDR-compatible TVs launched in 2016. Unlike competing standard Dolby Vision, HDR:10 is an open standard available to all manufacturers and supported by the Ultra HD Alliance.

HDR:10 brings a wider colour gamut, a 10-bit colour gamut to be exact. That’s a marked increase in the number of colours available on a TV set – which is typically 8-bit currently.

Read on for our in depth piece on HDR here.

These are the HDR 4K Ultra HD Blu-rays available in the UK this year:

  • Planet Earth II
  • The Revenant
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Passengers
  • Star Trek Into Darkness
  • IMAX Adventure
  • Underworld: Blood Wars
  • Fast & Furious 7
  • Deadpool
  • Kingsman: The Secret Service
  • Patriots Day
  • The Lego Movie
  • Lone Survivor
  • Unforgiven
No more articles